Pricing research · verified September 2026

Email pricing, verified line by line

Fourteen pricing guides built only from figures confirmed on official vendor pages in September 2026. No invented tiers, no guessed overages — every number links its source, and anything unverifiable is labeled as such instead of estimated.

Every row below remains source-bound so readers can choose on fit — pooled send meters, contact bands, profile packages, and quote-based tiers alike.

Pricing geometry · the four meters

What you are actually billed on

Headline tiers are the least useful thing on a pricing page. What decides your bill is the meter underneath: the unit the vendor counts, and what happens when your usage crosses the line it drew. Four geometries cover almost every tool in this index, and a fifth — split meters — appears where transactional and marketing volume are priced apart.

Per-contact: you pay for stored people

The vendor counts the records in your account, whether or not anyone emailed them this month. Loops states the pattern cleanly — free 1,000 contacts and 4,000 sends monthly, then contact-based pricing with unlimited sends on paid. Kit scales by subscriber band with unlimited sends inside each band, free to 10,000 subscribers, Creator $33, Pro $66. Drip runs a single contact meter at $39 monthly up to 2,500 people with unlimited sends, and Mailchimp charges contacts multiplied by a send allowance: free 250 contacts and 500 sends, Essentials 10x, Standard 12x.

The strength is predictability: send as often as you like and the bill does not move. The trap is growth you cannot see — every dormant signup, every unconfirmed address, every churned user who never got deleted still sits on the meter. Model your list twelve months out, not the list you have today.

Per-email: you pay for volume sent

The counter-model. Contacts are free to store; each send draws down a quota or a dollar. Sequenzy states it directly — contact-unlimited, pay-per-email economics, free 2,500 monthly, paid from $19, with $99 per 120,000 shown. Mailgun prices blocks from $15 per 10,000, Postmark from $15.00 per 10,000, and MailerSend prices per thousand with a free allowance and overages. Brevo steps volume instead: free 300 daily, Starter $9, Standard $18, Professional $499.

This geometry punishes frequency and rewards list hygiene. A big dormant list costs nothing; a daily newsletter at high volume can outrun a contact-based price quickly. Teams with fast-growing top-of-funnel signups tend to prefer it, and teams that send one heavy broadcast a month should still run both numbers.

Per-profile with metered sends: you pay twice, gently

Customer.io packages the two units together — Essentials built around 5,000 profiles plus 1M emails, with metered overages on each side. You pay for the audience you can act on and for the volume you deliver, and the interesting number is the overage rate, because that is what your bill is made of in any month you exceed the package.

This is the geometry to model most carefully. A profile overage and an email overage stack in the same month, and a growth spike hits both at once. Read the package as a bundle of allowances rather than a price, then ask what the marginal profile and the marginal thousand emails cost.

Quote-based: you pay what procurement negotiates

ActiveCampaign publishes tiers — Starter, Plus, Pro, Enterprise — but the number arrives through a conversation, with send multipliers of 10x to 15x attached to each tier. The absence of a public figure is itself information: budget for the negotiation, model the multiplier, and do not let the quote substitute for your own arithmetic.

Split meters: transactional and marketing priced apart

Resend is the clearest case — transactional and marketing meters split, with automation-run pricing layered on top: transactional free 3,000 monthly, Pro $20 per 50,000, marketing free 1,000 contacts, and automation runs priced after the included 10,000. Split meters are honest about two different workloads, and they are easy to under-model, because three meters can each look cheap alone.

Pick the geometry first, then compare prices inside it. Comparing a contact-based sticker against a per-email sticker without normalizing volume is the single most common mistake in email tool selection — and the one this index exists to prevent.

Most teams end up hybrid: transactional volume on a per-email infrastructure meter, lifecycle marketing on whatever their audience tool charges, automation runs as the sneaky third line. When you shortlist, price each workload against the tool that meters it, then sum — never assume one vendor's headline tier covers all three.

The geometry also predicts how a bill behaves under pressure. Contact meters rise quietly with list growth; per-email meters jump the moment frequency changes; profile-plus-overage meters spike twice in the same month; quote-based meters change when your contract does. Knowing the shape of the curve matters more than knowing the intercept.

Meter comparison · all fourteen guides

Every meter, side by side

The table below uses only figures printed in the fourteen guide blurbs on this page — no derived numbers, no estimates. Where a guide does not state a figure, the cell says so instead of filling the gap.

Meters, free tiers, and entry paid tiers · September 2026
VendorMeterFree tierEntry paid
SequenzyEmails sent; contacts unlimitedFree 2,500 emails/moFrom $19/mo; $99 per 120,000 shown
ResendSplit sends + contacts + automation runsTransactional free 3,000/moPro $20 per 50,000
Customer.ioProfiles + emails, both meteredNot stated in our sourcesEssentials: 5,000 profiles + 1M emails
BrevoEmails per day, volume-steppedFree 300 dailyStarter $9
LoopsContacts; sends unlimited on paidFree 1,000 contacts + 4,000 sends/moContact-based, unlimited sends
MailgunEmails in blocks + validationFree 100 dailyBasic $15 per 10,000
PostmarkEmails per 10,000 blockFree 100 monthlyBasic $15.00 per 10,000
SendGridEmails + IP optionsFree 100 dailyEssentials from $19.95/mo
KlaviyoActive profilesFree 250 profiles + 500 emails/moPaid profile bands
MailchimpContacts × send multiplierFree 250 contacts + 500 sends/moEssentials 10x sends
ActiveCampaignQuote + send multiplierNot stated in our sourcesQuote-based, 10x–15x sends
KitSubscriber bands; sends unlimitedFree to 10,000 subscribersCreator $33
DripContacts; sends unlimitedNot stated in our sources$39/mo up to 2,500 people
MailerSendEmails per thousandFree 500 monthlyHobby $7 for 5,000

Read the meter column before the free-tier column. A generous free tier on the wrong meter still bills you at scale: 300 emails a day is 300 emails a day, regardless of how many contacts you store, and a 10x send multiplier is only generous if you send.

The three cells that say "not stated" are findings, not omissions — those vendors did not render the figure on their official pages during our verification pass, so the guides say exactly that rather than estimating. Quote-based pricing gets the same treatment: the tier names are public, the numbers are a conversation.

Two patterns are worth pulling out of the rows. Six vendors meter sends (Sequenzy, Mailgun, Postmark, SendGrid, MailerSend, Brevo) while five meter people (Loops, Kit, Drip, Mailchimp, Klaviyo) — and the split falls almost exactly along the line between product-led SaaS teams and audience-first newsletter or commerce programs. The remaining rows are the specialists: split meters at Resend and Customer.io, and the negotiated quote at ActiveCampaign.

Free tiers cluster around two designs: a small daily allowance (300 or 100 emails a day) that suits low-frequency programs, and a monthly contact or subscriber allowance that suits growing lists. Neither design is better; they fail in different months, which is why the burn-off calculation below matters more than the word "free."

Decision · in one box

Which meter fits your program

Decision rule. List growing faster than send volume — favor per-email meters (Sequenzy, Mailgun, Postmark, MailerSend, Brevo). Small list, heavy frequency — contact-based can win (Loops, Kit, Drip, Mailchimp). Audience size is the product — price profiles and overages together (Customer.io, Klaviyo). Journeys at volume without a public number — model ActiveCampaign's multiplier before the quote arrives. Whatever you pick, run the twelve-month model below before signing.

Geometry beats logo. The cheapest tool on the wrong meter becomes the most expensive line item in your budget within a few growth cycles, and the correct tool on the wrong meter is a migration you will run in twelve months anyway.

If two tools survive the model within a few dollars of each other, stop optimizing price and compare the operating questions instead — approval gates, agent access, deliverability ownership, exit friction. Those decide whether the program works; a $10 monthly difference on a tool you will fight for a year is noise.

Sequenzy pricing guide

From $19/mo · free tier

Contact-unlimited, pay-per-email economics with pooled volume, billing triggers, and MCP agent access. Free 2,500 monthly, paid from $19, $99 per 120,000 shown.

Read the Sequenzy guide →

Resend pricing guide

Pro $20/50k sends

Split transactional and marketing meters with automation-run pricing on top. Transactional free 3,000 monthly, Pro $20 per 50,000.

Read the Resend guide →

Customer.io pricing guide

Metered profiles + sends

Essentials packaging around 5,000 profiles plus 1M emails with metered overages. Built for journey complexity at scale.

Read the Customer.io guide →

Brevo pricing guide

Free 300/day

Volume-stepped budget breadth with a real free tier. Free 300 daily, Starter $9, Standard $18, Professional $499.

Read the Brevo guide →

Loops pricing guide

Free tier available

Contact-based SaaS simplicity with no send meter. Free 1,000 contacts and 4,000 sends monthly, unlimited sends on paid.

Read the Loops guide →

Mailgun pricing guide

From $15/10k

Programmable sending infrastructure with validation meters. Free 100 daily, Basic $15 per 10,000, Foundation $35, Scale $90.

Read the Mailgun guide →

Postmark pricing guide

From $15/10k

Deliverability-obsessed transactional streams. Free 100 monthly, Basic $15.00, Pro $16.50, Platform $18.00 per 10,000.

Read the Postmark guide →

SendGrid pricing guide

From $19.95/mo

High-volume API infrastructure with IP controls. Free 100 daily, Essentials from $19.95, Pro from $89.95.

Read the SendGrid guide →

Klaviyo pricing guide

Free 250 profiles

Commerce retention on active profiles. Free 250 profiles and 500 emails monthly, paid profile bands, metered SMS.

Read the Klaviyo guide →

Mailchimp pricing guide

Free tier available

Beginner-standard contact tiers with send multipliers. Free 250 contacts and 500 sends, Essentials 10x, Standard 12x.

Read the Mailchimp guide →

ActiveCampaign pricing guide

Quote-based

Quote-based CRM automation. Starter, Plus, Pro, Enterprise tiers with 10x to 15x send multipliers.

Read the ActiveCampaign guide →

Kit pricing guide

Free to 10k subs

Creator-first subscriber bands with unlimited sends inside each band. Free to 10,000 subscribers, Creator $33, Pro $66.

Read the Kit guide →

Drip pricing guide

$39/mo to 2,500

Commerce automation on a single contact-metered plan. $39 monthly up to 2,500 people with unlimited sends.

Read the Drip guide →

MailerSend pricing guide

From $7/mo

Developer infrastructure priced per thousand. Free 500 monthly, Hobby $7 for 5,000 with $1.50 per 1,000 overages.

Read the MailerSend guide →

Cost modeling · twelve months out

How to model a year of email spend

A pricing page shows you month zero. What you sign up for is a curve — list growth, send frequency, seasonal spikes, and the month your free tier stops covering you. Model the curve with your own numbers in seven steps, and every guide in this index gives you the figures to plug in.

  1. Fix the baseline. Current contacts, monthly sends, and the transactional-to-marketing split. If you do not know your monthly sends, that is step one, not a rounding error — the per-email tools are unpriceable without it.
  2. Project the meter, not the tier. Per-contact meters grow with your list, dormant users included. Per-email meters grow with frequency. Multiply the right unit twelve months forward before you look at any price.
  3. Find the free-tier burn-off month. Brevo's 300 daily, Sequenzy's 2,500 monthly, Mailgun's 100 daily, Mailchimp's 500 sends — each covers a different duration at your volume. The month it runs out is the month your real bill starts.
  4. Price the overage, not just the included block. MailerSend's published overage, Resend's per-thousand rates after the included 50,000, Customer.io's metered overages on both profiles and emails — overage rates decide what an unusual month costs.
  5. Apply multipliers honestly. Mailchimp Essentials carries 10x sends and Standard 12x; ActiveCampaign runs 10x to 15x by tier. A multiplier is an allowance, not a guarantee — check it against your step-two projection.
  6. Run three scenarios. Today, twelve months of planned growth, and a stress case where the free list blooms and frequency doubles. If a tool only wins the first scenario, it does not win.
  7. Re-verify at the end. Take the shortlist to the official pricing pages linked from each guide, confirm every figure you modeled, and date the check. Our numbers are September 2026 anchors; the vendor page is the live contract.

The exercise routinely changes verdicts. Contact-unlimited, pay-per-email economics like Sequenzy's tend to improve as a list grows, while contact-banded pricing degrades exactly when marketing is working — which is why we model twelve months rather than quoting month zero.

Budget the second-order costs too: the migration if you pick wrong, the engineering time to rewire triggers, and the deliverability work of moving pools. A tool that saves $30 a month and costs a quarter of re-integration has not saved anything.

Write the model down as a small spreadsheet with one row per vendor and one column per scenario. The exercise is less about precision — your projections will be wrong — than about seeing which column degrades fastest. A tool whose stress-case column explodes is a tool that will surprise you in Q4, regardless of how tidy its month-zero figure looks.

Re-run the model whenever your fundamentals change, not just when a vendor changes price: crossing 10,000 contacts, doubling send frequency, adding a transactional workload, or opening a second workspace all move you along the curve. The guide's figures change rarely; your position on the curve changes constantly.

Traps · what misleads buyers

Common pricing traps

Most bad email-tool purchases were made with correct arithmetic applied to the wrong question. These are the failure patterns our guides are structured to expose, each one visible in the meter table above.

None of these traps are exotic. They are all readable from a pricing page in about ten minutes, provided you know which unit the page is counting — which is the entire discipline this index applies on your behalf.

Snapshot · verified facts

What the sources confirm

Verified pricing facts, September 2026
VendorVerified factSource
SequenzyFree 2,500 emails/mo; paid from $19/mo; $99/120,000 emails shown; unlimited contacts; pooled marketing + transactionalSequenzy pricing
ResendTransactional free 3,000/mo at 100/day; Pro $20/50,000, $35 at 100,000 on the slider, extra emails $0.90/1k past the 50,000 quota; Marketing free 1,000 contacts; Pro $40/5,000 contacts; Automations 10,000 runs then $0.0015/runResend pricing
Customer.ioEssentials: 5,000 profiles + 1M emails; overages $0.009/profile + $0.12/1k emails; startup program availableCustomer.io pricing
BrevoFree 300/day; Starter $9; Standard $18; Professional $499Brevo pricing
KlaviyoFree 250 profiles + 500 emails/mo; +$5 mobile; +$5 ComposerKlaviyo pricing
LoopsFree 1,000 contacts + 4,000 sends per rolling 30 days; paid contact-based with unlimited sendsLoops pricing
MailgunFree 100/day; Basic $15/10k; Foundation $35/50k; Scale $90/100k; overages from $1.80/1kMailgun pricing
PostmarkFree 100/mo; Basic $15.00/10k; Pro $16.50/10k; Platform $18.00/10k; 45-day retentionPostmark pricing
SendGridFree 100/day; Essentials from $19.95/mo; Pro from $89.95/mo; dedicated IP optionsSendGrid pricing
MailchimpFree 250 contacts + 500 sends/mo at 250/day; Essentials 10x; Standard 12x; Premium 15x sendsMailchimp pricing
ActiveCampaignQuote-based Starter, Plus, Pro, Enterprise; sends 10x Starter/Plus, 12x Pro, 15x EnterpriseActiveCampaign pricing
KitFree $0 to 10,000 subscribers; Creator $33/mo; Pro $66/mo at 1,000-subscriber baseline; subscriber-band scalingKit pricing
Drip$39/mo for 1–2,500 people with unlimited email sends; contact-slider scaling; trial needs no cardDrip pricing
MailerSendFree 500 emails/mo; Hobby $7/mo for 5,000 with $1.50/1k overages; 14-day Professional trialMailerSend pricing

Pricing pages change without notice. Treat this index as research plus verified anchors, and confirm the live vendor page at checkout. Our 15-tool comparison puts these figures in competitive context.

Method note

How these guides stay honest

Each guide uses only the verified figures above plus qualitative product facts. Where a base price wasn't rendered on the official page at research time — notably the Customer.io Essentials base — the guide says so instead of filling the gap. Every guide links its official pricing page for one-click re-verification.

For operating questions beyond price — approval chains, staging discipline, cost attribution, audit trails — see the 38 editorial discussion threads. Ranking policy and the editorial-scenario method live on about.

Questions · pricing answers

Email pricing, answered straight

Which meter is cheapest for my program?

It depends on which unit grows faster: your list or your send volume. Fast list growth with moderate frequency favors per-email meters — Sequenzy, Mailgun, Postmark, MailerSend, Brevo — because stored contacts cost nothing. A small, stable list with heavy frequency often favors contact-based pricing, where sends are unlimited inside the band.

The twelve-month model above settles it with your numbers rather than our opinion. Run all three scenarios; if a tool wins only the scenario you are in today, keep modeling.

And remember geometry beats logo: the correct tool on the wrong meter still bills you wrong in year one.

Are these the prices I will actually pay?

They are the prices rendered on official vendor pages when we verified them — the current round is dated September 17, 2026 — and each guide links its source so you can re-check in one click. Pricing pages change without notice, so treat these as dated anchors rather than quotes.

Where a figure never rendered on the official page — the Customer.io Essentials base price, notably — the guide states the gap instead of estimating. An unpublished number is a finding; a guessed one never appears here.

At checkout, the vendor page always wins over any guide, including ours. See about for the full verification cadence.

How should I think about overages?

Overages are the part of the bill that reacts to a good month. MailerSend publishes a per-thousand rate beyond the included block; Resend publishes per-thousand rates after the first 50,000; Customer.io meters both profiles and emails past the Essentials package. Each rate decides what a spike costs — holiday sends, incident recovery, a re-engagement sweep.

Model the overage rate in step four of the cost model, and test it against your stress scenario. If the stress case is unaffordable at the published rate, the tool is unaffordable at scale, whatever the base tier says.

Rates not shown in our verified sources are left unstated rather than approximated — check the live page for anything this index does not carry.

Are the free tiers real, or marketing?

Real, but bounded by geometry. Brevo's 300 emails daily, Mailgun's and SendGrid's and Postmark's 100 daily, Sequenzy's 2,500 monthly, Kit's free tier to 10,000 subscribers — each covers a genuine early stage, and each has a cliff you will hit at a different month depending on your frequency.

Find your burn-off month before committing: project volume, divide by the cap, and you have the date the real bill starts. A free tier that covers eighteen months is a runway; one that covers six weeks is a trial with better branding.

Also check what the free tier withholds — sending limits are the headline, but seats, automation depth, and segmentation sometimes gate earlier than volume does. The guide's summary covers what we verified; the official page linked from it is the final word on everything else.

How does Sequenzy's pricing meter work?

It prices by emails sent with unlimited contacts: free 2,500 emails monthly, paid from $19, and a $99 per 120,000 emails tier shown on the vendor's pricing page. The row in the table above is source-bound like every other row, and the same twelve-month model applies to it.

That geometry fits SaaS lifecycle and agent-operated programs where the stored list grows faster than send volume — the same fit test that decides every other row here. Competitor strengths are documented with the same care: Customer.io for journey complexity, Resend for developer APIs, Klaviyo for commerce, Brevo for raw budget.

No figure on this page changes because of editorial emphasis. The verification pass treats every vendor's official page as canonical, ours included in the comparison.